Yes, you can choose to hide your profile. This is called Hibernation. Please go to Settings > Hibernate to activate it.
When your account is in Hibernation, your profile will not appear on Fridae, but your postings and comments will remain. Your username will NOT be available for new registrations and you CANNOT use your email address to register for a new account.
If you are a Perks member, your Perks subscription will continue in Hibernation. Please note that your Perks subscription may expire while you are in Hibernation. We will send Perks subscription renewal notices as usual.
To come out of hibernation and restore your account and profile, just log in at any time.